Archive for November 6th, 2013

Ameca splendens

20131106-233440.jpg

I’m keeping a group of these in a 20 long with java moss, and they are breeding. This is a CARES species that is thought to be extinct in the wild. Ultimately, I would like to put these outside in a vat.

, , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Albino Bristlenose 2013-C

This clutch is from a different male than the last two. Noticed him guarding on 11/4. Today I managed to catch him out of his cave and snatched it up!

Update: After stealing the cave, I decided to remove the eggs from it and let them hatch in the breeder trap. I’ve done this before, but these eggs were VERY adhesive, moreso than usual. Unfortunately, I damaged a few of them in the process and ended up losing the entire batch 😦 Since I have gotten the timing down and have found that collection is easiest immediately post-hatch, I will wait in the future until that moment, regardless of tankmates. Dad does a pretty good job of guarding eggs from snatchers without my help, so from now on, no more egg-stealing. Just frynapping.

, , , , , , ,

Leave a comment